Willie Mays, Others to Receive Medal of Freedom

President Barack Obama has selected seventeen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

The medal is the nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of America.

“I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor,” President Obama said in a press release. “From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

Among the honorees are veteran pro baseball player Willie Mays, Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm (posthumously) and space history pioneer Katherine G. Johnson.

The awards will be presented at the White House on Nov. 24.