Mississippi Passes 20-Week Abortion Ban
Earlier this week, Mississippi passed a law that would prevent women from having abortions 20 weeks beyond their last menstrual cycle, or 18 weeks of pregnancy.
According to Huffington Post, the bill makes an exception for cases in which the mother’s life is in danger; however, there are no such exceptions for rape and incest victims.
The bill, which Gov. Phil Bryant is expected to sign, has drawn both support and criticism.
Whereas the governor feels as though the bill will “protect the unborn in Mississippi,” opponents says the legislation is “politically motivated.”
In a statement, Felicia Brown-Williams, director of public policy for Planned Parenthood Southeast, said:
“Women who make the deeply personal and often complex decision to end a pregnancy after 18 weeks should do so in consultation with their physician — not politicians.”
Currently, there is only one legal abortion clinic in Mississippi and it offers abortions up to 16 weeks of pregnancy.
To read the full story, click HERE.