Listen to Unreleased Prince Track “Deliverance” From EP Due Out this Friday

LAS VEGAS, NV - MAY 19: Musician Prince performs onstage during the 2013 Billboard Music Awards at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on May 19, 2013 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

In commemoration of the one year anniversary of Prince’s passing, an EP of unreleased songs will drop this Friday, April 21, in his honor.

Titled Deliverance, the project will consist of six songs recorded between 2006 – 2008. “I Am,” “Touch Me,” “Sunrise Sunset” and “No One Else” accompanies the title track which dropped Tuesday night.

Released by Rogue Music Alliance, the forthcoming EP was written and recorded while Prince was an independent artist. The late legend was adamant about owning the rights to his music, noting the longtime injustice within the music industry. Co-written by Prince and Ian Boxill, Boxhill has been working tirelessly to finish what the talented pair started more than 10 years ago.

I believe ‘Deliverance’ is a timely release with everything going on in the world today and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing. I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs it will bring comfort to many,” said Boxill in a statement about the track. “Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public. When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”

Available for pre-order on iTunes, Google Play and Amazon, the physical version will be released June 2. Until then, check out “Deliverance” on Apple Music here.

Photo Credit: Getty/Ethan Miller