Miguel, Bryson Tiller & More to Debut New Music on HBO’s ‘Insecure’

Last summer, Issa Rae changed our “20 something” lives with her stellar HBO comedy Insecure, and it is OUTSTANDING. I know, I know. You’re tired of hearing it, but it needs to be said– Issa is up and we are here for it!

Not only does it speak to my experience as a Black millennial navigating my 20’s, the insightful soundtrack also embodies my varied taste in music. Ever since the first episode, the show’s music selection has been praised for its variety, sequence, and overall grasp of popular culture. The season opener lived up to the hype highlighting song bites from Cardi B, SZA, NxWorries and more.

The show’s music consultant, Kier Lehman, recently shared what audiences can expect to hear in the coming episodes, including new and original sounds from artists like Miguel, Bryson Tiller, Jazmine Sullivan, and up and coming acts.

“In the first episode, we had a song called “Attitude” from Leikeli47 that’s the first single released from our upcoming soundtrack,” Lehman shared with Vulture. “She made it original for the show and came through and played for us. She said she felt so grateful for the show. We have upcoming music from Dreezy this week and Kari Faux, who wrote a song specifically for us. There’s new Jorja Smith in the first episode that’s not released. In episode three, we have a new song from TT the Artist that’ll probably be on our soundtrack. We’ll also have new music from Bryson Tiller, Jazmine Sullivan, and BOSCO. And we’ll be featuring new music from Miguel.”

Tune into Episode 2 of Insecure‘s 10-episode run on HBO on July 30.