Wayne Brady To Host Apollo’s Spring Gala

Emmy-Award winning entertainer Wayne Brady will host the 8th annual Spring Gala honoring legendary singer Chaka Khan.

The Apollo Theater’s June 10th event will feature performances by Patti LaBelle, Jennifer Holliday, Alexandra Burke and Mary J, Blige. Erykah Badu will present Chaka Khan with the Apollo Legends Hall of Fame award.

“The Apollo Theater is an American institution and is world-renowned for developing, nurturing and creating talent for decades. The Apollo Theater has supported my career and now they are a part of honoring my legacy. I am looking forward to the celebration,” Khan said in a press release.

Former inductees include Lionel Richie, Etta James, Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson. The proceeds from the Spring Gala help to support the Apollo’s performing arts event, education incentives, and community programs. Purchase tickets for the event or make a donation to the 2013 Spring Gala here.