5th Annual AAFCA Awards Celebrates Diversity

An impressive array of A-list celebrities and executives came together in Hollywood for the 5th Annual African American Film Critics Association Awards (AAFCA) last week. This gala adds a colorful addition to the already busy award season as some of today’s biggest names in entertainment showed support to one another.

Actors Forest Whitaker and Louis Gossett Jr. were joined by Scandal director Shonda Rhimes and Sundance director Ava DuVernay as they mingled with honorees. The awards, which were hosted by Orlando Jones and actress Salli Richardson-Whitfield, bestowed awards to winners in 12 traditional categories.

Film director Robert Townsend and Rhimes presented Fox Searchlight executive Zola Mashariki with the Ashley Boone Award, named after one of the first African American studio executives.

The AAFCA also gave special recognition to Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Paris Barclay, Bob and Harvey Weinstein and journalist Justin Chang for their great strides towards diversity and inclusion. Variety film editor Chang was presented the Roger Ebert Award by the late film critic’s step-daughter Sonia Evans, while Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences president Boone-Isaacs and Directors Guild of America President Barclay along with the Weinstein’s were recipients of AAFCA’s Special Achievement honors.